City of Sanibel

PROCLAMATION

	WHEREAS:	In 2016, the Gopher Tortoise Council adopted April 10 th as Gopher Tortoise Day in Florida to increase awareness and appreciation for this protected species. The gopher tortoise is considered a keystone species and is an essential indicator of ecosystem health; and
	WHEREAS:	Gopher tortoise burrows provide shelter and protection to more than 350 species. Due to problems such as habitat loss, disease, and poaching, gopher tortoise populations have declined, and the gopher tortoise is listed as threatened species and is protected by the state of Florida; and
4	WHEREAS:	The island's gopher tortoises, their burrows, and their habitats were severely impacted by Hurricane Ian and subsequent storms; and
	WHEREAS:	The recovery of gopher tortoise populations and their habitats on Sanibel may take many years and will require continued commitment by the citizens of Sanibel to the gopher tortoise protection measures set forth in the Conservation Element of the Sanibel Plan and City and State laws; and
	WHEREAS:	Development activities on Sanibel must avoid or minimize the impacts to gopher tortoises and their habitats; and
	WHEREAS:	You can show your appreciation and help to ensure the survival and long- term recovery of gopher tortoises on Sanibel by creating a " <u>tortoise friendly</u> <u>landscape</u> " including a diversity of native grasses and wildflowers and keeping a watchful eye for gopher tortoises while driving and walking around Sanibel.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Mike Miller, Mayor of the City of Sanibel, Lee County Florida, on behalf of the members of the City Council and the citizens of Sanibel, do hereby declare April 10, 2025, as Gopher Tortoise Day on Sanibel Island, and urge all citizens to celebrate the Gopher Tortoise and to help protect a keystone species of this island.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of the City of Sanibel to be affixed hereto.

This 1stday of April 2025Mike Miller, MayorHolly D. Smith. Vi

Holly D. Smith, Vice Mayor

Kichaus

Laura Laura DeBruce, Councilmember

Richard Johnson, Councilmember

John Henshaw, Councilmember