Agenda Item Meeting of 12/03/2024

CITY OF SANIBEL RESOLUTION 24-075

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SANIBEL, FLORIDA, AMENDING THE AUTHORIZATION FOR THE PLACEMENT OF TEMPORARY SIGNS ON COMMERCIAL PROPERTIES AUTHORIZED THROUGH DECEMBER 6, 2025; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, on September 28, 2022, Hurricane Ian made landfall in Sanibel and other parts of Lee County as a Category 4 hurricane, causing catastrophic property damage and loss of life; and

WHEREAS, damages directly impacting the City of Sanibel include widespread damage and destruction of infrastructure, public property, and private property; and

WHEREAS, City Council Resolution 22-054 declared an initial State of Local Emergency for a 7-day term, which State of Local Emergency has been extended continuously by Mayoral Proclamations since the initial issuance; and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of City Council to continue its support of local businesses as they recover from storm damage; and

WHEREAS, certain individual businesses and the Sanibel Captiva Chamber of Commerce requested temporary relief from the Sanibel Code of Ordinances that prohibits the use of banner signs to allow Sanibel businesses reopening and recovering from the impacts of Hurricane Ian the opportunity to adequately inform the public of their reopening through the use of temporary signage; and

WHEREAS, at the March 7, 2023, City Council meeting, following public discussion, the Sanibel City Council unanimously supported the Sanibel Captiva Chamber of Commerce's request to make available for use to reopened businesses a particular uniform temporary sign and recommended that the City Manager provide the requested relief through an Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order 23-01, dated March 8, 2023, provided for the temporary signage allowance as supported by City Council, to be effective immediately and to remain in effect through September 30, 2023; and

WHEREAS, on May 2, 2023, the City Council approved Resolution 23-025, superseding Executive Order 23-01, to provide for the temporary signage allowance through September 30, 2023; and

WHEREAS, on September 27, 2023, City Council approved Resolution 23-061 extending the authorization for the placement of temporary signs on commercial properties until September 30, 2024; and

WHEREAS, on September 9, 2024, City Council approved Resolution 24-050 extending the authorization for the placement of temporary signs on commercial properties until December 6, 2025; and

WHEREAS, City Council wishes to amend the temporary relief of the prohibitions of certain temporary signs provided via Resolution 23-025, 23-061, and 24-050 pursuant to Section 106-112 (7), Code of Ordinances.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SANIBEL, FLORIDA:

SECTION 1. The recitals above are true and correct and made a part hereof.

SECTION 2. Commercial properties are authorized, without a permit, to place one temporary flag or feather banner up to 18 square feet in size and 6 feet in height (not including frame) as provided by the Sanibel Captiva Chamber of Commerce, so long as such flag or banner remains in good and untattered condition.

SECTION 3. Flag or feather banners not provided by the Sanibel Captiva Chamber of Commerce are prohibited.

SECTION 4. All temporary signs must be placed on premise only, a minimum of two feet from any property line, parallel to the street. Sign location shall not pose a threat to vehicular or pedestrian safety or impede maintenance of the right-of-way, as solely determined by the City of Sanibel.

SECTION 5. These exemptions shall expire December 6, 2025, or whenever City Council shall revoke this resolution, whichever is sooner.

SECTION 6. This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon adoption.

PASSED IN OPEN AND REGULAR SESSION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SANIBEL, FLORIDA THIS 3RD DAY OF DECEMBER 2024.

Attest:

Scotty Lynn Kelly, City Clerk

Richard Johnson, Mayor

Approved as to form and legality:

John D. Agnew, City Attorney

Date filed with City Clerk: _____

Vote of Council Members:

Johnson	
Miller	
DeBruce	
Henshaw	
Smith	