City of Sanibel

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS:

The City of Sanibel is currently celebrating its 50th anniversary as an incorporated municipality, which independence was inspired by its residents' desire to "remain a small town community whose members choose to live in harmony with one another and with nature, creating a human settlement distinguished by its diversity, beauty, uniqueness, character, and stewardship," as detailed in the Sanibel Plan's adopted Vision Statement; and

WHEREAS:

Two and a half years after Hurricane Ian devastated our island sanctuary, Sanibel's recovery efforts have been extraordinary, but the City, its residents, and its businesses remain focused on the ongoing process of rebuilding a more resilient community and the vibrant economy that helps to make Sanibel a unique small town and nature sanctuary; and

WHEREAS:

In celebration of Sanibel's 50th anniversary, and in the spirit of our founders' realized vision for a unique, diverse community that lives in harmony with one another and with nature, the City of Sanibel wishes to renew its pledge to this vision and promote Sanibel as an open and affirming oasis where all are welcome, to encourage visitors who are essential to Sanibel's quality of place and quality of life; and

WHEREAS:

The City of Sanibel hereby proclaims that Sanibel is open for business and invites all potential visitors and prospective residents to enjoy our unique, casual style; our beautiful, natural beaches and preserves; our locally-owned shops, home-spun restaurants, and farmers market; and all our other eclectic activities and events, which along with our residents are the Spirit of Sanibel.

NOW, THEREFORE, We the City Council of the City of Sanibel, of Lee County Florida, wish to proudly extend a heartfelt welcome to all visitors and prospective residents to Sanibel island, a unique community founded on its barrier island sanctuary qualities.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, We have hereunto set our hand and caused the seal of the City of Sanibel to be affixed hereto.

This 1st day of April 2025

Mike Miller, Mayor

Holly D. Smith, Vice Mayo

Laura DeBruce, Councilmember

John Henshaw, Councilmember

Richard Johnson, Councilmember