

# AGENDA MEMORANDUM

**Planning Department** 

### City Council Meeting Date: <u>July 15, 2025</u>

To:City CouncilFrom:Paula McMichael, AICP, Planning DirectorCraig Chandler, AICP, Deputy Planning DirectorDate:June 23, 2025

#### SUBJECT: APPOINTING FIVE MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE TRANSPORTATION MASTER PLAN STEERING COMMITTEE UNTIL THE CITY COUNCIL ACCEPTS THE PLAN AND THE COMMITTEE IS DISSOLVED

**BACKGROUND:** The Transportation Master Plan Steering Committee was established to be composed of five individuals, four representing specific organizations and one citizen-at-large who are full-time residents of Sanibel. These individuals should have special knowledge, skills or interest in the Sanibel Plan and transportation planning in particular. Per the direction from the City Council, staff solicited applications for the citizens-at-large appointments. The City received four (4) applications. The applications are included in the agenda packet.

The appointees as recommended by the four specific organizations are as follows:

- Committee of the Islands (COTI) Bill Millar (Jeff Blackman as Alternate)
- Sanibel Planning Commission Erika Steiner (Kate Sergeant as Alternate)
- Sanibel Captiva Chamber of Commerce Evelyn Stewart
- Sanibel Captiva Conservation Foundation (SCCF) James Evans (Matt DePaolis as Alternate)

Meetings will generally be held on the third Wednesday of each month at 1:30 P.M. in MacKenzie Hall – 800 Dunlop Road. The anticipated first meeting date is August 20, 2025.

#### FUNDING SOURCE: N/A

**RECOMMENDED ACTION:** Adopt Resolution 25-036 appointing members to the Transportation Master Plan Steering Committee.

## Sanibel is and shall remain a barrier island sanctuary