CITY OF SANIBEL RESOLUTION 23-003

A RESOLUTION RATIFYING THE APPOINTMENT OF THREE MEMBERS TO THE CITY OF SANIBEL PLANNING COMMISSION TO FILL THREE-YEAR TERMS BEGINNING JANUARY 17, 2023 THROUGH MIDNIGHT, JANUARY 12, 2026; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, the City of Sanibel has established the City of Sanibel Planning Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Sanibel Code of Ordinances establishes criteria for the appointment of Board members; and

WHEREAS, City Council has reviewed the applications of all Board member candidates seeking a position on the Planning Commission and desires to fill the three open positions from among those qualified candidates; and

WHEREAS, the City Council voted by ballot at its January 17, 2023 meeting to appoint to the Planning Commission each of Laura DeBruce, Ken Colter, and Lyman Welch, and such candidates were appointed to three-year terms commencing January 17, 2023 and ending at midnight January 12, 2026; and

WHEREAS, the City Council desires to ratify its appointments by Resolution.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SANIBEL, FLORIDA, THAT:

SECTION I. City Council hereby ratifies the appointments of the following members to the Planning Commission:

- 1. Laura DeBruce:
- 2. Ken Colter; and
- 3. Lyman Welch.

SECTION 2. The above members were appointed for a term commencing January 17, 2023, through midnight, January 12, 2026.

SECTION 3. This Resolution shall take effect immediately upon adoption, with retroactive application to the January 17, 2023 date of appointments.

PASSED IN OPEN AND REGULAR SESSION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SANIBEL, FLORIDA THIS 7th DAY OF FEBRUARY 2023.

Attest:	
Scotty Lynn Kelly, City Clerk	Holly D. Smith, Mayor

Approved as to form and legality:	
John D. Agnev	v, City Attorney
Date filed with City Clerk:	
Vote of Council Members:	
Smith	
Johnson	
Crater	
Henshaw	
Miller	